Got a question? Contact us at

Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA)

This page will be updated as further clarifications are made about the CPA designation.

In BC, all three accounting designations – CA, CMA and CGA – have signed an agreement to pursue a merger and are working to unite under the Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA) designation. CPA brings together the best of all three accounting designations; creating more career opportunities than ever before.

CPA accreditation is earned through the CPA Professional Education Program (CPA PEP). It prioritizes both academic study and relevant work experience.

The new CPA Certification Program builds on the best of existing education programs, creating a challenging and rigorous certification process that meets the needs of business, public practice and government.

The nationally developed, regionally delivered CPA certification program consists of:

  • Academic prerequisites including an undergraduate degree and specific subject area coverage
  • Graduate level CPA Professional Education Program
  • Evaluation throughout, and common final examination
  • Relevant practical work experience

To find out more, visit


Academic Prerequisites

An undergraduate degree including specific subject area coverage is required before starting the CPA Professional Education Program (CPA PEP). If your degree does not include the necessary subject area coverage, you may complete the equivalent coursework at a recognized post-secondary institution or through the CPA Prerequisite Education Program (CPA PREP).

Subject Area Coverage

Specific courses will vary by educational institution but candidates will be required to have specific subject area coverage of:

  • Financial Accounting
  • Management Accounting
  • Taxation
  • Finance
  • Auditing
  • Economics
  • Business Law
  • Statistics
  • Information Systems
  • Strategic Management

Find out if your degree meets the subject area coverage for CPA PEP by submitting your transcripts for review at